(GMT +08:00 ) 18:36:57

24/7 LiveChat

Provides 24/7 Quality service

Barbados Royals

MCW Official Partner

Barbados’ official franchise cricket side in the Caribbean Premier League is the Barbados Royals (formerly the Barbados Tridents). They are one of the six groups assembled especially in 2013 for the competition’s first year. After being introduced to the sport by his friend Ajmal Khan, the club’s Chairman and CPL creator, Mark Wahlberg, a Hollywood actor, acquired shares in the team in 2013.

They were eligible for the Champions League in the 2014 CPL. Despite only winning one of their four matches; they were eliminated from the tournament during the group round. The announcement that the team name would change from the Barbados Tridents to the Barbados Royals was made on July 30, 2021.

The Royals have been playing very well throughout the season, and with their fifth straight win, they have risen to the top of the standings. Obed McCoy, the Royals’ fastest bowler, helped the squad by taking three wickets when Tallawahs were 24 runs down.

The Barbados Royals were in first place on the scoreboard.

The CPL T20 tournament’s Barbados Royals team has played five games so far and won every one of them.The CPL 2022 games were played on several fields throughout the Caribbean nations: the first seven games were played in St. Kitts and Nevis, while the remaining games were played in Saint Lucia.

They reached the IPL 2022 final but had fallen short at the final hurdle there as well.

The Royals prepared for Miller’s departure for South Africa duty in India by easing Mayers into the leadership role in the inaugural 6ixty that preceded the CPL. Jason Holder, who had led the Barbados franchise – Tridents at the time – to the title in 2019, was there to help smooth the transition. Kyle Mayers had never captained in senior T20 cricket prior to CPL 2022.

Holder praised the Royals for their “excellent job” in ensuring that there was open communication and that each player was aware of his responsibilities.

CPL Most Run List for 2022

Kyle Mayers, the captain of the Barbados Royals, placed lower than King in the CPL 2022 run-scoring standings. The southpaw batted quite well this season. In 12 games, he scored 366 runs, including 29 in the championship game versus the Tallawahs. Mayers was a crucial factor in the Royals’ season-long second-place result.

CPL Winners List

The tournament’s MVP was Kyle Mayers of the Royals. With the bat and the ball, he produced outstanding performances, amassing 366 runs and capturing eight wickets.

Despite coming in last on the leaderboard for wicket-takers and trailing Alzarri Joseph, Mohammad Amir emerges as the bowler with the greatest impact.

In a rain-shortened encounter versus St. Lucia Kings, he gave his best effort. On that occasion, Mayers just allowed four runs while taking all four Kings innings wickets in just two overs.

After making crucial contributions with both the bat and the ball at crucial moments, Cornwall had the second-highest effect in the competition. In Qualifier 1, his 91 from 54 balls and 11 sixes helped Royals easily defeat the Guyana Amazon Warriors.

Most Impactful Performance in a Match

Barbados Royals vs Saint Lucia Kings

With 36 runs, 4 wickets, 50 runs at the plate, 123 runs from the bowl, and 173 impacts, Kyle Mayers continues to have the most standout performance.

2019 Caribbean Premier League champion

Guyana Amazon Warriors’ 11-game winning streak came to an end as Barbados Tridents won the Caribbean Premier League for the second time by defeating them.

After defeating the Guyana Amazon Warriors by 27 runs in the championship game, the Barbados Tridents won the competition and secured their second CPL championship.

Johnson Charles, Alex Hales, and Jonathan Carter all made valuable contributions as Barbados reached a par score of 171/6, which their Raymon Reifer-led bowling attack ably defended to secure a 27-run victory in the CPL 2019 championship game.

With a 12.68 average and 22 wickets, the Barbados Tridents have nine runs.

2014 Caribbean Premier League champion

The Amazon Warriors, who finished in the top four previous year, were given a target of 153 and had a 30-ball requirement of 56. The fourth rain delay of the game, however, prompted the cancellation of the game, leaving the Amazon Warriors with a score below par.

When Tridents were struggling at 8 for 2 after being given the opportunity to bat, the title would have seemed far distant. After moving Jason Holder up to No. 3, Krishmar Santokie struck in his first two overs, removing William Perkins in the first and bowled him for a duck in the second.

Barbados Tridents won the Caribbean Premier League 2014 by a slim margin of eight runs on Duckworth-Lewis in a final marred by rain delays.

MCW Partnership News